Cordless tool guides, one page per model

Every tool here is measured against the median for its own class, and every one shows the energy its pack actually holds — the figure both of its headline numbers imply and neither states.

These pages exist because a specification means little on its own. A 5.0 Ah pack is not bigger than a 4.0 Ah one if the first is 18 V and the second is 20 — it holds 90 watt-hours against 80 — and amp-hours is the number every listing leads with. Each guide puts one tool against the rest of its class and shows what its pack actually carries.

We do not test tools. Every figure is read from the manufacturer’s listing, the energy figure is arithmetic on the published voltage and amp-hours, and where a listing is silent the page says not stated.

All 10 guides

Saws

cordless saws with a guide of their own.
Tool Platform Pack Energy
DEWALT 20V MAX 6-1/2-Inch Circular 20 V 5 Ah 100 Wh
Makita XSR01Z 36V (18V X2) LXT® 36 V 5 Ah 180 Wh
SKIL 20V 6-1/2 Inch Cordless 20 V 2 Ah 40 Wh
Dremel Blueprint Portable Saw 12 V 2 Ah 24 Wh

Outdoor Power Equipment

outdoor power tools with a guide of their own.
Tool Platform Pack Energy
WORX 20V 12" 2-in-1 Cordless String 20 V 2 Ah 40 Wh
WORX Cordless Leaf 20 V 4 Ah 80 Wh
Electric Leaf Blower Cordless 21V 21 V 6 Ah 126 Wh
Wild Badger Power 40V 18-In 40 V 4 Ah 160 Wh
21V Lightweight Cordless Hedge 21 V 2 Ah 42 Wh
WORKIT 4-in-1 Electric Weed 20 V 4 Ah 80 Wh

What is in each guide

The same six things, in the same order, so two guides can be read against each other without hunting for the figure that moved. First, everything the listing publishes, in one table — platform voltage, pack capacity, maximum speed, weight, power source and price band. Alongside them sits the figure that is on no listing: the watt-hours those first two multiply out to.

Second, that multiplication worked out in the open, and bounded just as explicitly: it is energy, not minutes. Turning watt-hours into runtime needs the tool’s draw under load and not one listing in this corpus states one, so the page refuses to estimate it rather than burying a guess in a confident number.

Third, what the voltage commits you to. A pack fits one brand’s platform and nothing else, so the voltage decision outlives the tool that prompted it — which is the argument the battery platforms page makes at length and every guide makes once.

Fourth and fifth, the conditions under which the tool suits and the conditions under which it does not, both derived from published specifications rather than from an opinion. Sixth, what the listing claims and, as importantly, what it leaves out.

What these guides are not

They are not reviews. Nothing here has been run down a battery, timed under load or weighed, and no tool on this site has been used on a job. There is no score, no ranking and no best buy, because none of those can be produced honestly from listing text alone. What can be produced honestly is a comparison against every other listing in the same class, and that is what these pages are.

They are also not a substitute for the class pages. If you are still deciding between a drill and an impact driver, or between a compact platform and a general-purpose one, the class comparison is the better starting point. These guides are for the stage after that, when the decision has narrowed to a particular tool.

Where a listing is silent, the guide says not stated. That is a deliberate refusal to fill a gap with a plausible default, and a guide with several such gaps is describing a listing that documents itself poorly — which is itself worth knowing.

Which tools get a guide, and which do not

Not every listing in the corpus can carry one. A guide is worth writing only where the listing states both a platform voltage and a pack capacity, because without that pair the energy cannot be derived and the section these pages are built around has nothing to say. That is 141 of the 427 products here. The rest are still in the finder and still counted in every class median; they simply do not get a page of their own.

Getting to that number took some cleaning, and the cleaning is worth stating. Forty-six listings carried a voltage no cordless platform uses — mains voltages at 120 and 220, USB voltages at 5 and 3.7 — read out of a corded tool’s supply or a charger’s output. Six stated amp-hours in the thousands, which is milliamp-hours in an amp-hour column and would have multiplied out to packs a hundred times larger than any that exists. Two leaf blowers claimed 313,500 rpm. Six listings were power banks and jump starters that answered a battery search. None of those figures is corrected to a plausible value; each is dropped, because a number this site cannot stand behind should not be on a page that exists to be stood behind.

Prefer to compare a whole class?

Computed from the corpus on 2026-10-06.